“DTC provides great customer

service and is always available for

our needs in our department.”

- Tracy, Radiology Director

​​Individual states may have their own definition of qualified expert/qualified medical physicist along with licensing or registration requirements for medical physicists. For example, in Missouri and Kansas, diagnostic medical physicists must be registered. In Florida, diagnostic medical physicists must be licensed.

As part of the licensing and registration processes, applicants must submit their credentials documenting experience, formal and continuing education, and,

if applicable, certification by an approved, national certifying body such as the American College of Radiology.

For further informtion about State registration and licensing requirements refer to the following American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) site:


Accessed: 12/1/16

ACR and AAPM DEFINITIONS: a qualified medical physicists  (qMP)

“A Qualified Medical Physicist is an individual who is competent to practice independently one or more of the subfields in medical physics.

The American College of Radiology considers certification and continuing education in the appropriate subfield(s) as evidence that an individual is competent to practice one or more of the subfields in medical physics, and to be a Qualified Medical Physicist. The ACR recommends that the individual be certifed in teh appropriate subfield(s) by the American Board of Radiology (ABR).

A Qualified Medical Physicist should meet the ACR Standard for Coninuing Medical Education."


Accessed: 12/1/16


"For the purpose of providing clinical professional services, a Qualified Medical Physicist (QMP) is an individual who is competent to independently provide clinical professional services in one or more of the subfields of medical physics.”  

 For diagnostic imaging this includes:

  • Diagnostic Medical Physics
  • Nuclear Medical Physics
  • Medical Health Physics

“A Qualified Medical Physicist meets each of the following credentials:

  • Has earned a master's and/or doctoral degree in physics, medical physics, biophysics, radiological physics, medical health physics, or equivalent disciplines from an accredited college or university; and

  • Has been granted certification in the specific subfield(s) of medical physics with its associated medical health physics aspects by an appropriate national certifying body and abides by the certifying body's requirements for continuing education.”


Accessed: 12/1/16